NEWs

Badminton date changed for Coronation

Badminton Horse Trials, presented by Mars Equestrian, will start a day later than planned so that cross-country day does not clash with the Coronation of Charles lll and the Queen Consort on Saturday, May 6, 2023.

The dressage phase will now take place on Friday and Saturday (May 5 and 6), cross-country on Sunday (May 7) and the show jumping finale on Monday (May 8). Dressage will start earlier on Saturday so that everyone—competitors, spectators and officials—can be part of this historic day; the Coronation service will be shown on the big screens.

“Ever since the news came through that the Coronation would be held on the Saturday of Badminton we have been working out how best to deliver the Event around the celebrations,” said Badminton Director Jane Tuckwell. “We very much hope that the wonderful and historic occasion of the Coronation will make it a truly memorable Badminton and that everyone will be able to attend as usual.”

The dressage phase of the Voltaire Design Grassroots Championships will start on Wednesday, May 3, continuing on to Thursday, May 4. The Dubarry Burghley Young Event Horse qualifier will also take place that day, plus the first horse inspection for the CCI5*-L. Trade stands will be open from Thursday.

The Box Office opens early January 2023.

More information on visiting can be found here.

Timetable for 2023:

Wednesday 3rd May Voltaire Design Grassroots Championships – (Dressage)
Thursday 4th May Voltaire Design Grassroots Championships – Dressage,
Cross Country & Show Jumping
Dubarry Burghley Young Event Horse Class
International Event – Horse Inspection; Tradestands open
Friday 5th May International Event – Dressage
Saturday 6th May International Event – Dressage
Sunday 7th May International Event – Cross Country
Monday 8th May International Event – Show Jumping

In Other News...

Apollo shines for Swales at Alnwick Ford International Horse Trials

Scottish rider Cameron Swales notched up the first international victory of his career when winning the new Houghton Country CCI1*-S class at Alnwick Ford International…

Jackson’s Gamble pays off at Alnwick Ford International Horse Trials

Mike Jackson scored the biggest international win of his career to date when taking the Hambro Sport Horses CCI3*-S at Alnwick Ford International Horse Trials…